Posted by: Realist | January 28, 2008

Collapsed the Alaskan Tent

Our uber Alaskan $300 tent from Cabela’s collapsed a couple weeks ago from 4″ of wet, heavy snow.  I suppose it was partly our fault for not cleaning off the snow as it fell, but still, a tent rated supposedly for Alaska weather shouldn’t collapse under Virginia snow.

We got replacement poles from Cabela’s and fixed the tent today.  Unfortunately, all the bedding is wet so it will take a couple days to dry it all out.

Moreover, I’m returning the fancy winter sleeping bag (Summit model) to Cabela’s.  I kept getting tangled in the microfleece lining, which would somehow wrap around me.  Just give me a normal, slippery/cold nylon lined sleeping bag.  There’s another -20 degree rectangular winter bag I’ll probably order. My current mummy bag is way too claustrophobic since I can’t toss & turn.


Leave a comment

Categories