Posted by: Realist | November 30, 2007

Fixed The Brakes

I fixed the brakes on my Corolla after having problems with the caliper a few weeks ago. I think I learned the trick to pushing the piston back into the caliper. First, open the bleeder screw to relieve the pressure. Second, tighten the c-clamp really slowly. This caliper had no issue with the dust boot bulging out due to leaked fluid.

I also replaced the other caliper. $80 for the replacement, $40 for the core. Not too bad. And it was surprisingly easy and quick. I also bought a one-person bleeder kit for about $8 which was a life saver. No having to find the wife to help bleed the brakes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

